Oh how I love the story of Mary. What it must have been like to have the angel Gabriel appear before her and tell her she was a woman favored by God! How magnificent! Three years ago… if that had happened to me… I would have immediately fainted and instantly fell to the ground in utter shock!

The angel speaks to young Mary about her future proclaiming to this engaged virgin that she would become pregnant and have a son who would be called Jesus. Mary stood there calm, cool and collected. With an open mind and heart, she listened to every word. Words that told her she would be the mother to the Son of the Most High! I can just imagine her standing there grinning from ear to ear. All I can say is WOW!

It’s amazing to me that while her physical circumstances were in complete opposition to the news she received, she still believed the angel! The Bible tells us this woman who had never had intercourse and was not yet married responded with the utmost faith! She said “I am the Lord’s servant. May everything you have said about me come true.” Luke 1:38.

I truly love this story! As a woman who battles with infertility and recurrent miscarriage, this tale of great faith and God’s ability to make anything possible, gives me hope. It fills my heart with the courage to go on trying month after month. It helps me clear my mind of discouraging thoughts and allows me to, despite what medical science is telling me, to fully know that children are possible. Knowing that she moved forward after her conversation with Gabriel singing a song of praise to God makes me admire her and want to be like her. “For the Mighty One is Holy, and He had done great things for me.” Luke 1:49

God is great! Three years ago… God had a message delivered to me just as He did to Mary. He sent a total stranger to tell me that I would have a natural child. Unlike Mary… I had become fearful of my future. I couldn’t see past my own pain, and my faith was waning big time! Like Mary… my physical circumstances were such that it would seem a baby would be impossible. After so many disappointments and unborn losses, I had grown angry at the Lord. Worse than that, the enemy had a tight grip on me, and I was majority entangled in the sin of bitterness.

God recognized that I needed a huge shove in the right direction. I needed something solid that I could grab onto, a word that would allow me to stand tall and move forward.  He delivered a hopeful message… a natural child would come.

For the first time in a long time I felt complete and whole. I was truly happy and focused on the future instead of my tragic past. It wasn’t long before Luke 1:45 started showing up in my life. Whether it was in a note from a friend or in the opening message at a women’s event at Gateway Church, that verse seemed to pop up everywhere. “Blessed is she who has believed that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished.” I clung to it like a baby clings to lovee. I believed that I would have a baby even though past experience and medical experts said otherwise!

It would be seven long months, but we did indeed get pregnant! Our daughter arrived despite all the odds against us on November 19, 2009. This road to becoming a mother also birthed something else. I truly believe that on the day she was born… I was reborn! I was forever changed and have blossomed into someone of substance. Someone who loves the Lord completely and totally. A faithful servant… who would not faint if the angel Gabriel appeared with news from my Lord. Today I am someone who would immediately rejoice at God’s amazing blessing.

For the last year and a half, we have trying to conceive baby number two. And while I have not encountered an angel delivering a promise of a baby to come, I believe I have heard the whisper of my Father. When I ask Him if will we have another child – I hear a resounding “yes”. So once again I move forward clinging to Luke 1:45… knowing that there will come a day sooner or later that I will again welcome a baby into this world – a baby that I promise to raise in a Godly way. A baby who will know how much they were wanted and most assuredly prayed for.

