The word “eggless” just never sat right with me. I had to wait about a week and a half to get my test results, and in those days, I prayed quite a bit. During my quiet times with the Lord, I sensed He was whispering “there’s no problem with your fertility.” I felt encouraged that while I can’t see the future blessings God has planned for me, there was no way I was going to let my present days be marred by this unsettling diagnosis. I had a lot to be thankful for… especially during this time of year. It’s not only Thanksgiving next week, but November also marks the time God blessed Scott and I with a true and perfect miracle.

That miracle is the birth of my precious daughter.  Averey celebrated her second birthday last weekend, and I went all out on her party. As my husband would boldly testify “I went totally overboard.”  As I started out planning her big day, one awful thought kept popping up in my mind “I may never ever have the opportunity to have a child’s second birthday party again.” Honestly, I can’t stand thoughts like those. They invade your mind, take over and shake your faith! When thoughts like that pop into my mind… I know I have to quickly turn them over to God because I know defeating thoughts like those weaken my faith and gives power to the enemy!

Hebrews 11:1 NIV says “Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen…”

Faith is the confirmation of things we do not see. Faith is believing in what is true in the spiritual… not necessarily the natural. Faith is being certain of unseen reality. Faith fully requires us to embrace and seize the truth. God taught me through Averey’s conception that blessings come when faith is solid. I believed even when the doctor’s said I was sterile that I would have a natural child. And here I have sat again for the last two weeks faced with similar news. Since the very moment the doctor said he suspected I was “eggless,” I rebuked that diagnosis. I just knew it wasn’t going to be true. It sounded like a lie, and I refused to believe it. For days, I prayed that the test result would come back, and results would confirm my ovaries were filled with viable eggs. I stood firm that proof was coming that our doctor was mistaken.

During my appointment with my fertility doctor, I got that proof. The results of my fertility test were in, and God certainly had my back! I have the egg reserve of a fertile 20-year-old! The doctor said it is uncommon to see 40-year-old women with my test result! There was my confirmation that what the Lord whispered to me was spot on! I just love the way God gives us a word, then delivers!

I got to thinking about my five years with infertility. Many times I have felt as if I am as fragile as a cracked egg. Doctors have bombarded me with their opinions and diagnosis codes, and I am often left reeling. I can’t count how many times I was given distressing, hopeless test results, only to then turn around and show up pregnant again. God has proven to me over and over that faith is the most powerful weapon I have in my war with infertility. God’s word must be embraced. It must be clung to and never let go!

Faith starts when we set our sights on God. Faith grows when we choose to listen to God. Faith blooms when we believe the word of God! Romans 10:17 (NIV) confirms this by saying  “Faith comes by hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ.”

I believe that when we have the confidence to trust God, our faith is powerful and unshakeable! God requires us to believe and trust in moments of trials and tribulations, but faith is what makes us strong. I like to think of faith as spiritual super glue! It helps me to cement my beliefs and firmly trust God.

Faith is the state of being convinced about what we hope for. Faith is what keeps us grounded and keeps us able to move forward. So tonight I stand in faith that I will have that baby. I choose to keep the torch lit and will continue to run in the race. I might fall, but I will always get up and start again. For what motivates me is unwaivering faith and the promise that God is for me. I look forward to the day that I will once again go overboard in planning and celebrating another child’s second birthday. And to that I say a resounding “Yes” and “Amen”.

