One night a good friend was coming over to catch up on some sewing projects. She got to our house and waltzed up to our front door. But this night she was greeted by something other than my pearl-white smile. When she reached the front door, she was face-to-face with a giant snake.

Terrified, she ran back towards the driveway. I could hear screeching, and when our phone rang, I knew it was my panicked friend. She yelled out “snake,” and all of us went into crisis mode. We were all freaking out… after all… it was a snake! My daughter, now intrigued, desired to know what all the fuss was about and was doing her best to open the front door. Eventually, with my excited daughter looking on, my husband took a broom and swept it off our porch and into the garden where the reptile slithered away into the dark of night.

All was right with the world when my friend finally walked through our front door and we went about our night. But months later, my daughter was still talking about the snake that her daddy rescued Miss Jennifer from.

I hear my daughter boasting about her brave dad, and I am so proud. One day as she told me the story for the hundredth time, it got me thinking about my life and how my Abba Father protects me from all the things that lurk in the dark. Why is it that I don’t always feel as fired up to brag about my Father saving me from my snakes as my two-year-old?

The hard truth is I should be a walking billboard. God has come to my rescue more times than I care to admit as I have invited trouble into my life and walked right into situations that I knew better. God protected me from being kidnapped when I was a child when a stranger approached my sister and me. He kept me safe all the times I wrecked my car yet never suffered a scratch. He watched over me when I was foolish and drank too much at college parties. And most recently, He protected my unborn child and myself as we battled through a serious illness that was killing our red blood cells. Even though I grew increasingly weaker and weaker, I knew we were going to be okay.

When I was in my late teens, a girlfriend and I got into a car with six cute guys we had just met at Lake Murray. We went driving around all over Ardmore, Oklahoma, which was hours from where we lived in Texas. There was alcohol and a lot of flirting. I remember feeling nervous at times as wondered what I had gotten myself into. Our parents had no idea where we were and since this was way before cell phones, I had no idea how to contact them if there was an emergency. I am relieved to say that nothing happened to neither of us. But in hindsight, the reason wasn’t because they were nice guys or because we were armed with a big can of mace. The sole reason nothing bad occurred is there was another passenger in the car. I think about all the things that could have happened to us and can only get on my knees and thank God because I know that night could have ended in a completely different way if He had not joined us on our excursion.

I reflect on the close calls… and the one constant is that HE was always there to keep me safe. Even in the worst moments of my life… He was there shielding me, covering me, solving my problems and guiding me through my poor choices and bad decisions. Deuteronomy 8:15 NIV says “He led you through the vast and dreadful wilderness, that thirsty and waterless land, with its venomous snakes and scorpions…”

Like the verse says, God has led me through each and every trial in my life with gentle nudges and great care.  He has kept me safe from harm and derailed the enemy’s plans many times. Whether it was carrying me through suffering the loss of my unborn children or keeping me hopeful after a harsh medical diagnosis, I look at all the ways Jehovah-Shammah has brought me through my dark times, and I am just so grateful.

Just like Adam and Eve… we will always be tempted and lured by snakes. But God’s promises are so good. I am thankful He is the Lord of All… because when He comes to sweep away the reptiles that are overwhelming me… He never even has to get the broom! One word and they slither away in defeat!

God has made it so that when we are forced to face the “snakes” in life, we can be reassured there is one who will look after us, protect us from harm, help us to overcome temptation and redeem by helping us to see the best in every circumstance we face.

So tonight I brag on my Dad. He’s swept away more snakes than I care to count. My billboard would read, “God is my hero!” I am so thankful to God. I honor my protector. I love my Daddy, and I will continue to place all of my trust into him… even when I am unknowingly making a choice to walk right into the snake’s path.

