There is not a living soul today that is perfect. We all have problems and issues to face. There are things about us we don’t like and wish were different. Some the battle is with self control. Lots struggle with addictions, while for others it is coping with medical issues. For me personally, struggling the last five to six years to conceive and keep a child has been the greatest mountain of my life.

A mountain is any problem in your life that is keeping you from living the life God designed for you. So in my case, I am certain that God never intended for me to walk around fearful, doubtful of my future and scared I will miscarry if I ever get pregnant again.

I’m not a mountain climber, but I’ve scaled the precipice of infertility and recurrent miscarriage for far too long. I’ve climbed and climbed only to be right back at the base. Over the years I thought I was making progress only to realize I had been lost on the mass running down trails that had no end. Blaming God, welling up anger, operating out of fear and trying to control my destiny only seemed to make it seem I was climbing with a 100 pounds of weight on my back.

What I’ve learned through all this time is that it was never my job to scale the mountain. I could never have the tools needed or the experience necessary to get to the apex. The more I tried to take matters into my own hands… the more the mountain just grew larger and larger. Pressure mounted and cracks formed in my marriage but not in my mountain.

The good news is that there was someone… a great mighty man… who all ready crumbled all our mountains. He stared down the beast and claimed victory over all our problems! So I realized that instead of trying to solve my problem by figure out a way to defeat infertility and keep from losing babies, all I have to do is believe in Jesus and in what the word of God says.

So Jesus doesn’t call me to scale peaks, but He does ask me to take an active role in my destiny! When I accepted Jesus into my heart, I made a covenant vow with Him. That mean by His blood I am able to claim the authority bestowed to me and speak to the mountain!

Jesus said for us to speak to the mountain in His Name. It is our responsibility to believe that you receive when you pray. Matthew 21:21 says Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done.”

WOW! What a promise! It is my responsibility to speak to the mountain of infertility and miscarriage in my life. Instead of complaining about my issues, I will plead the blood of Jesus and thank Him for healing my medical issues. I can demand everything in my body to line up and function as it should. I can command that all generational curses associated with my problem be broken for me and my future daughter. I can kick out and ride any fear, doubt or jealousy by speaking out and lining up my mind with God’s will!

So here is how I will speak to my mountain:

1. I will speak to the mountain and command it to be removed! (Mark 11:23)
2. I will use the faith God has given me because faith has something to say. (2 Cor. 4:13)
3. I will guard my words and speak nothing negatic. My tongue speaks life and not death (Proverbs 18:21).
4. I will not ask or beg. I will demand God’s will to be done for what I have authority over. (Mark 16:17)
5. I will not be conflicted! I understand that I will not receive anything from God if I waver.  (James 1:6)
6. I will be a believer and not a doubter.
7. I will not waiver in my pursuit even if I do not get pregnant immediately! I will remain patient and remember that I might have to speak every day for a very long time trusting that every time I do speak, cracks are forming!
8. I will have faith ­ – remaining firm in knowing that one day… the mountain will fall! Scott and I will be blessed with a second child!

Just think of all the miracles that can happen if we all started speaking to our mountains! Will you join me in speaking to yours?

(A special thank you to Karen Pope of Heart and Soul Ministries for inspiring this blog post!)

